visualdatatools.com Forum Index visualdatatools.com
Discussion for DataTank and DataGraph
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Gapminder example graph and Text Command

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    visualdatatools.com Forum Index -> Getting Started
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mannyzen



Joined: 26 Mar 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:09 pm    Post subject: Gapminder example graph and Text Command Reply with quote

I am playing around with Gapminder graph example from datagraph website to learn how the animation was accomplished. In that dgraph file, the "text command" refers to the animation variable "year" inside "line". I am not able to figure out how the animation variable "year" was added/selected. Even when I click on the little plus menu to the right of the field, I don't see any option to select "year".

What am I missing? Any help/pointers are appreciated.

I am using the version 4.3Beta.

thanks,
manish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mannyzen



Joined: 26 Mar 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Gapminder example graph and Text Command Reply with quote

mannyzen wrote:
I am playing around with Gapminder graph example from datagraph website to learn how the animation was accomplished. In that dgraph file, the "text command" refers to the animation variable "year" inside "line". I am not able to figure out how the animation variable "year" was added/selected. Even when I click on the little plus menu to the right of the field, I don't see any option to select "year".

What am I missing? Any help/pointers are appreciated.

I am using the version 4.3Beta.

thanks,
manish


I tried two other versions of Datagraph (4.3 and 4.2). It appears that in 4.2, I am able to correctly select "year" when I click on little plus menu item. That is not the case with 4.3 and 4.3beta. So, it would seem that there is a bug in 4.3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pamela



Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good catch! This does appear to be an issue in 4.3. We are working on fixing now.

You are correct. You should have the menu that appears when you click the little plus symbol the right of the text field, give you the option of adding a token for any global variables, including the animation variable.

Here is a link to a blog post that might be helpful in understanding how the animation works:
https://www.visualdatatools.com/wrd/2017/04/01/animate-anything/

Will let you know when a new Beta is posted with the fix.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mannyzen



Joined: 26 Mar 2018
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pamela



Joined: 25 Feb 2017
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This issue is now fixed in the 4.3 beta. Please download the latest version for an update. https://www.visualdatatools.com/DataGraph/Versions/Beta/

The order of the items in that menu was updated in 4.3 from alphabetical to the order in the global variables list. When that change was made, the animation parameter was left out of the list.

Thanks for reporting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    visualdatatools.com Forum Index -> Getting Started All times are GMT - 3 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group